The simple answer is yes; vegans can eat bread. However, not all bread is created equal, and it's essential to check the ingredients list or labelling to ensure the bread is vegan-friendly. Some bread contains animal-derived ingredients such as eggs, milk, or honey, which are unsuitable for vegans.
Because we all love carbs! Well, the other reason is that many traditional bread recipes call for non-vegan ingredients, such as eggs or milk. This means that some breads, especially those made in traditional or artisanal ways, may not be vegan. However, many bread brands and bakeries have started offering vegan options to meet the growing demand for plant-based products.
Whole grain breads are a great option for vegans, as they are typically made with plant-based ingredients.
Sourdough bread is a type of bread that is made using a sourdough starter instead of commercial yeast.
Sprouted grain breads are made from sprouted grains allowed to grow into young plants before being ground into flour.
But as always, the best thing to do is to read the ingredient list and ensure that the bread does not contain milk or eggs.
Lavash is a traditional Turkish bread made from a simple mixture of flour, water, and salt and oil which means, it’s also usually vegan and is actually what we make fresh to order in store at What The Pitta.
Turkish Lavash has a long history, dating back to the Ottoman Empire. It is a staple in the cuisine of many Turkic countries and is traditionally made by spreading the dough thin on a hot surface and baking it briefly. The versatility and simplicity of Lavash has made it a popular staple in the region for centuries. It can be used adana kebab durum or in our case, for vegan döner kebabs!
At What The Pitta, we take pride in making all of our lavash dough fresh every morning. From mixing the ingredients to rolling the flat breads to order, we ensure that every step of the lavash-making process is done with the utmost care and attention to detail to give you the authentic Turkish kebab experience. We always make our food to order which means two things, your food is always made fresh in front of you, and we have very little food waste.
So the answer to the question "Can vegans eat bread?" is yes and a lot of different types too! Veganism is a lifestyle that prohibits the consumption of animal products, but there are plenty of vegan-friendly bread options available to suit a variety of carb cravings. Finding delicious and cruelty-free vegan bread has never been easier, from speciality local food stores to major supermarket chains or pay us a visit and have your Lavash rolled to order and hot off the grill!